Mar 16, 2017

Bayamón, Puerto Rico- Puerto Rico FC seven game winning streak came to an end with a last minute goal by Portmore United FC who defeated PRFC by the score of 1-0 in the second day of the Caribbean Clup Championship.

A defensive battle during the first half saw Portmore United controlling the early part of the game but PRFC played great defense and stopped them from scoring. Then Hector "Pito" Ramos, Michael Kafari and Giussepe Gentile had their chances to give PRFC its first goal of the game during the late part of the first half but could not find the net.

PRFC got close to breaking the stalemate in the second half with a header from "Pito" Ramos and a shot by Giussepe that was stopped by Portmore's Goalkeeper Shaven-Sean Paul.

Conor Doyle got knocked down close to the penalty box, but the official didn't give him the call in the 72nd minute. Later, Giussepe got away from Portmore's defense and was fouled by Kareen Manning, who got a yellow card in the play.

In the 88th minute Portmore's forward Ricardo Morris was able to score the decisive goal.

PRFC plays its third and final game on Saturday, March 18th against Scholars United, who lost their first two games of the tournament. Get your tickets for just $10 on and

Starting XI

PRFC: Trevor Spangenberg; Kyle Culbertson, Ramon Soria (C), Rudy Dawson, Jordi Quintanilla, Conor Doyle, Hector Ramos, Giussepe Gentile, Michael Kafari, Javier Monsalves, Tyler Rudy

Portmore United FC: Shaven-Sean Paul; Damono Solomon, Kareen Manning, Andre Dyce, Ricardo Morris, Tramaine Stewart, Ewan Grandison (C), Jermie Lynch, Cleon Pryce, Henrico Ricketts, Michael Binns


Portmore United FC:  Ricardo Morris 88'

Yellow Cards:

PRFC: Javier Monsalvez 41', Kyle Culbertson 48', Jordi Quintilla 81'

Portmore United FC:  9', Tramaine Stewart 14', Kareem Manning 81'

Subs In:


 Joseph Marrero for Javier Monsalvez 66'

Sidney Rivera for Connor Doyle 89'

Cristiano Dias for Giussepe Gentile 89'

Portmore United FC:

Javon East for Jermie Lynch 70'

Maalique Foster for Cleon Price 74'

Ryan Wellington for Ricardo Morris 90'

Proud Sponsors of Puerto Rico FC